top of page

“They are still my family…my own flesh and blood”


Theirs was a close knit family such that they all stayed together. It was also that closeness that ultimately led to the death of popular Christian leader Akesh Singh.

Singh was allegedly shot by his brother-in-law Neville Naidoo in a family altercation and sustained three gunshot wounds on January 20. Despite his severe injuries, Singh fought to survive but eventually succumbed last Friday.

Naidoo, who fled the scene of the attack at the family’s Stork Road home immediately thereafter, is still on the run.

This week, grieving widow, Natalie, who together with her mother Neela Naidoo was also shot and injured in the attack, broke her silence over losing her husband – and for all intents, her brother Neville Naidoo.

Confirming that Naidoo’s wife and child continued to live with them in the joint family home, Natalie said their relationship remained intact as they had not been involved in the incident. “They can’t be held responsible for my brother’s actions. I haven’t seen or heard from him since that day. At the end of the day, they are still my family…my own flesh and blood.” said an emotional Natalie.

Quick to quell rumours that her husband was shot in self-defence, Natalie said the possibility of her husband being confrontational was low.

“The rumors that my brother shot my husband in self-defense are blatant lies. My husband was meek and gentle and would never fight with anyone. His philosophy was to overcome any hurdle or problem with love. My brother was obviously not in the right frame of mind,” she said.

Police launched a man hunt for Neville Naidoo who allegedly shot his brother-in-law Akesh Singh

Singh, was laid to rest on Saturday at the River of Life Church in what Natalie described as a “glorious send-off”.

With tears rolling down her cheeks, Natalie tried to compose herself in a bid to show a strong front for the couple’s children, ten year old Nazalie Faith and Joshua Jarrod, nine, who were constantly at her side.

“Akesh loved his family and this is a very difficult time for us as a family. My children are still small. As a parent I am going to try my level best not to expose them to the negative things that have happened but to live out the legacy that my husband left behind. My main focus now is my children and I am going to live the life that God will want me to live,” she said.

Reminiscing on their relationship, Natalie said she and Akesh had a deep bond that was formed when they were 12 years old and best friends in school.

Having both matriculated from the Kharina Secondary school, they began dating after matric and courted each other for nine years before they married in 2000.

“If there is one thing that I can tell anyone after what happened is that you have to live each day like it is your last. That is how my husband lived and I hold dear every memory that I have of him. Every day and every moment that we shared as a couple and as a family was so different and so special,” she said.

Co-incidently, on the day Singh was shot, he had been formally invited to be a part of the popular River of Life Church as a member of their pastoral ministry. His hard work and dedication for the past eight years at the church was also acknowledged. “My husband didn’t need a title to be a pastor. Love just oozed out of him. This was not a fantasy or a fairytale…..but Akesh truly lived a life of Christ on earth and I believe that he had completed what God wanted him to do. He has left a part of himself in everyone he came into contact with,” said Natalie.

She said she was grateful for her friends and family who stood by her through her trauma. Pastor Celvan Pakkary from the River of Life church described Singh as a devoted Christian whose faith was not only celebrated in church but by his love and charity for people.

“Akesh often went the extra mile for people. His faith in Christ and belief in the bible shaped his values and way of life. As a husband he was faithful and loved his wife and children with all his heart. He had recently purchased a new home and began rebuilding his family in a healthy way,” said Pakkary.

Police investigations continue and they have asked for anyone with information on the whereabouts of Naidoo to contact the SAPS Mountain Rise police on 079 500 1269.

Watch the tribute Singh’s friends and family compiled:

You may also want to read: Family feud victim dies


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page